My Process continues

 

FINAL COVER

Hey guys,  I am back to fill you in on the continued process of my self-published journey.

The previous post left off at my completion of my 1st draft of THE TRIUMPH IN ME.

Now from this point everyone’s journey is different of course, so for me I let my 1st draft marinate for a minute and I just read it over and over and each time I read it I found myself creating more and more scenes. It actually increased from 10,000 words to 26,000 words. I had a complete story that I was satisfied with.

Now what? Is it ready to publish? Will anybody want to buy it? Is it interesting enough to satisfy an avid reader’s appetite? How in the hell am I supposed to know?

Well that’s what an editor is for and why you have what is called beta-readers. They can provide you with the feedback needed to shape your baby. Then you have a final manuscript ready to format for either E-Book or Paperback or both. I decided to format both. I’ve learned that there are those who prefer to read on their mobile devices and then you have those who prefer the traditional way; holding that physical book in their hands and feeling that flipping of the pages against their fingertips.

My journey was created long before I began writing. It was what my life has been that led me to the pen. Most of what I’ve learned is that money plays a big part in the self-publishing process; but it doesn’t necessarily have to. Most can be accomplished with an extra dash of creativity and lots of prayer. Sometimes a pinch of begging and pleading can help as well. I had no budget; $0 budget.

I was able to find an editor through Facebook groups I had joined. She was affordable and had a great reputation as far I could tell. I prayed on it (as mentioned in a previous post) and then I was hit with an idea that was so far from my mind.

A friend of mine asked me to start a publishing service with her and together we published my 1st book. Her business management education and background, her passion for helping others succeed, and her drive to become monetarily stable was all I needed to know to convince me to join forces. She advanced the start-up funds to get my book fully edited and the cover designed and I did the book formatting and layout.

We both marketed and promoted on our social media platforms, researched all aspects of the business and here I am proud to say that we have a damn good (maybe not perfect) but really good looking book that contains a powerful story within its pages.

Of course we are still learning as we all are or should be but I introduce to you:     book-logo

Here are the links to where you can sign up for updates, read our bios and of course purchase a copy straight from our WEBSITE which I will personally autograph and ship to you.

Follow us on TWITTER and INSTAGRAM and get exclusive updates on what’s happening with us. We will be taking submissions very soon.

Hope you enjoyed this post. I will be back with more!

Thank you for visiting and as always feel free to leave a comment!

 

Leave a Reply

